


 
  

 

 

 

 

 

Are you an active duty member of the United States Armed Services?

Are you a veteran of the United States Armed Services?

Are you the spouse of a veteran of the United States Armed Services?

Are you the spouse of an active member of the United States Armed Services?

If you answered “Yes” to any of these questions, you may qualify for a reduction in

Health’s commitment to serving members and veterans of the United States Armed 
Forces and their families online at  
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Select profession: 
 Clinical Social Work (5201) $180.00 

 Marriage & Family Therapy (5202) $180.00 

 Mental Health Counseling (5203) $180.00 

Are you a registered intern in Florida?  Yes No 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

1. PERSONAL INFORMATION

 

 

 
 
 

 
 

 
 

 

 
 

 
 

Application for Licensure as a Clinical 
Social Worker, Marriage & Family Therapist 
or Mental Health Counselor by Examination 

Board of Clinical Social Work, Marriage and Family 
Therapy, and Mental Health Counseling  

P.O. Box 6330 
Tallahassee, FL 32314-6330 

Fax: (850) 413-6982 
Email: info@floridasmentalhealthprofessions.gov 

Do Not Write in this Space 
For Revenue Receipting Only 

Name: ______________________________________________________________________   Date of Birth: _______________ 
Last/Surname   First   Middle                 MM/DD/YYYY 

Mailing Address: (The address where mail and your license should be sent) 

___________________________________________________  _______  __________________________________ 
Street/P.O. Box  Apt. No.  City 

________________________________ ________  ___________________  ________________________________ 
State     ZIP       Country         Home/Cell Telephone (Input without dashes) 

Practice Location: (Required if mailing address is a P.O. Box- This address will be posted on the Department of Health’s website) 

___________________________________________________  _______  __________________________________ 
Street  Apt. No.  City

Gender:  Male  Race:  Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander Hispanic  or Latino  White 
 Female  American Indian or Alaska Native  Black or African American Asian 

 Two or More Races  

Email Notification: To be notified of the status of your application by email, check the “Yes” box and fill in your email address on the 
line provided. If you choose to be notified via email you will be responsible for checking your email regularly and updating your email 
address with the board office. 

Yes No Email Address: ____________________________________________________ 

Under Florida law, email addresses are public records. If you do not want your email address released in response to a public records 
request, do not provide an email address or send electronic mail to our office. Instead contact the office by phone or in writing. 

Total fee of $180.00 includes the following: 

Application Fee   $100.00 
Initial Licensure Fee     $75.00 
Unlicensed Activity Fee  $5.00 

Fees must be paid in the form of a cashier’s check or money order, made payable to the Department of Health. An  
applicant who is denied licensure or withdraws their application is entitled to a $80.00 (Initial Licensure Fee and Unlicensed 
Activity Fee) refund. Requests to withdraw or for a refund must be made in writing. Fees are refundable for up to three 
years from the date of receipt. 

________________________________ ________ ___________________  ________________________________ 
State             ZIP             Country                                  Work/Cell Telephone (Input without dashes) 

EQUAL  OPPORTUNITY DATA: 
We are required to ask that you furnish the following information as part of your voluntary compliance with 41 CFR Part 60-3-Uniform 
Guidelines on Employee Selection Procedure (1978); 43 FR 38295 and 38296 (August 25, 1978). This information is gathered for 
statistical and reporting purposes only and does not in any way affect your candidacy for licensure. 
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2. SOCIAL SECURITY DISCLOSURE

This information is exempt from public records disclosure. 

Pursuant to Title 42 United States Code § 666(a)(13), the department is required and authorized to 
collect Social Security numbers relating to applications for professional licensure. Additionally, section 
(s.) 456.013(1)(a), Florida Statutes (F.S.), authorizes the collection of Social Security numbers as part 
of the general licensing provisions.  

Last Name: _____________________________________________________________ 

First Name: _____________________________________________________________ 

Middle Name: ___________________________________________________________ 

Social Security Number: __________________________________________________ 
(Input without dashes)

Social Security Information- * Under the Federal Privacy Act, disclosure of Social Security numbers is 
voluntary unless specifically required by federal statute. In this instance, Social Security numbers are 
mandatory pursuant to Title 42 United States Code § 653 and 654; and s. 456.013(1), 409.2577, and 
409.2598, F.S. Social Security numbers are used to allow efficient screening of applicants and 
licensees by a Title IV-D child support agency to ensure compliance with child support obligations. 
Social Security numbers must also be recorded on all professional and occupational license 
applications and will be used for license identification pursuant to Personal Responsibility and Work 
Opportunity Reconciliation Act of 1996 (Welfare Reform Act. 104 Pub. L. Section 317). Clarification of 
the SSA process may be reviewed at www.ssa.gov or by calling 1-800-772-1213. 
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Name: _____________________________________________ 

3. APPLICANT BACKGROUND

A. List any other name(s) by which you have been known in the past. Attach additional sheets if necessary.

__________________________________________________________________________________________ 

B. Do you hold, or have you ever held a license to practice any counseling-related professions or any other
health-related license(s)?      Yes           No

C. List all health-related licenses (active, inactive or lapsed).

License 
Type License # State/Country 

Original Date 
Issued 

(MM/DD/YYYY) 
Expiration Date 
(MM/DD/YYYY) Status of License 

Submit a License Verification form to ALL state(s) of licensure. License verifications must be received directly 
from the licensing authority regardless of the status of the license. A copy of your license will not be accepted 
in lieu of official verification from the licensing agency. 

D. Do you have any applications for licensure in a counseling-related profession currently pending in any state
(including Florida), U.S. territory, or foreign country?       Yes            No

E. List all pending applications for licensure in a counseling-related profession.

License Type State/Country 

4. DISASTER

Would you be willing to provide health services in special needs shelters or to help staff disaster medical
assistance teams during times of emergency or major disaster?      Yes          No
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Name: _____________________________________________ 

5. EDUCATION HISTORY

Complete the appropriate education worksheet for your profession, found at the back of the application (not
required for Florida-registered interns). The completed worksheet must be included with your application.

A. List all schools at which you completed coursework in specific content areas to receive a master’s or doctoral
degree in the profession for which you are applying. All schools listed below must be consistent with the
schools provided on the education worksheet for your profession.

School Name Major 
Degree 

Conferred Date 
(MM/DD/YYYY) 

Degree Awarded 
(if applicable) 

B. For clinical social work applicants only: Were you an advanced standing student?        Yes        No

If “Yes,” you must provide a letter on university letterhead from an official of the school which awarded your
master’s degree in social work, verifying the specific courses and number of semester hours completed at the
baccalaureate level which were used to waive or exempt completion of similar courses at the graduate level.

The following documentation is required for proof of Practicum, Internship, or Field Experience: 

An official of the school (Dean, Department Chair) that awarded your graduate degree must provide a 
letter on university letterhead verifying that the supervised practicum, internship, or field experience was 
completed. Specific requirements for each profession can be found on the appropriate education worksheet for 
that profession. 

 Applicants educated outside the United States or Canada: 

Any document in a language other than English must be translated into English by a board-approved 
translation/ education evaluation service. Accepted evaluators can be found at 
https://floridasmentalhealthprofessions.gov/forms/foreign-cred-evaluators.pdf. 

Clinical Social Work- If you received your social work degree from a program outside the U.S. or Canada, 
documentation must be received that the program was determined to be equivalent to programs approved by the 
Council on Social Work Education by the International Social Work Degree Recognition and Evaluation 
Service provided by the Office of Social Work Accreditation (OSWA). To contact the OSWA, please visit 
http://www.cswe.org or call (703) 683-8080. 

Marriage and Family Therapy/Mental Health Counseling- For the board to consider education completed 
outside the U.S. or Canada, documentation must be received which verifies the institution at which the education 
was completed was equivalent to an accredited U.S. institution and the coursework met the content and credit 
hour requirement for graduate level coursework in the U.S. It is the applicant's responsibility to obtain an 
evaluation from a recognized foreign equivalency determination service that documents the acceptability of the 
coursework. The board office must receive an original evaluation mailed directly from the educational 
evaluation service. 

Applicants must request an official transcript from the accredited institution(s) from which you received your 
degree or have taken coursework. Transcripts must be sent directly to the board office from the 
registrar’s office of the institution and include a degree conferred date or they will not be considered 
official. Transcripts may be sent via email if the institution can send official digital transcripts using a secure 
transcript clearinghouse or parchment service. The transcript download link can be sent directly to 
mqa.491@flhealth.gov. Not required for Florida-registered interns whose education has been certified 
complete. 

If the course title on the transcript does not clearly identify the content of the coursework, a course 
description or syllabus will be required.wi
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Name: _____________________________________________ 

The following continuing education courses are required for licensure: 

A. Have you completed the required 8-hour Florida Laws and Rules course?  Yes      No

__________________________________________  __________________________  ___________________
Florida Laws and Rules Course Title           Provider Name  Date Completed 

 (MM/DD/YYYY) 

B. Have you completed the required 3-hour HIV/AIDS course? Yes     No

__________________________________________  __________________________  ___________________
HIV/AIDS Course Title     Provider Name Date Completed 

 (MM/DD/YYYY) 

If you have not completed the 3-hour HIV/AIDS course, you may submit the HIV/AIDS Affidavit found on page 19 
of this application, attesting you will complete the course within six months. 

Board-approved providers and courses can be found at www.cebroker.com. 

Board of Clinical Social Work, Marriage and Family Therapy, 
and Mental Health Counseling 
4052 Bald Cypress Way Bin C‐08 
Tallahassee, FL 32399‐3258 

6. CLINICAL EXPERIENCE
List in chronological order all professional and supervised experience in the profession for which you are applying.

Dates of Experience 
(From-To) MM/DD/YYYY Place of Employment Hours Worked 

per Week Supervisor Name 

to 
to 
to 
to 
to 
to 

Applicants must complete the Verification of Clinical Experience form documenting two years of post-
master’s supervised clinical experience. Either you or your supervisor(s) may send the completed form(s) to the 
board office. 

Out-of-State Supervised Experience- Supervisors not licensed in Florida must submit additional information with the 
Verification of Clinical Experience form: 

Licensed supervisors: Submit proof of licensure with the original date of issuance and the expiration date. Most 
states list this information on their website (print and submit the page) or request a written verification. 

Unlicensed supervisors: Submit proof they meet all educational requirements with copies of graduate level 
transcripts. 

Two years of Supervised Clinical Experience is equal to: 

Experience  
At least 1,500 hours of psychotherapy provided face-to-face with clients, accrued in no less than 100 weeks. 

Supervision  
At least 100 hours of supervision in no less than 100 weeks, at least 1,500 hours of psychotherapy provided face-
to-face with clients, and at least one hour of supervision every two weeks.  

 Documentation must be sent to the board office at mqa.491@flhealth.gov, or by mail to: 
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Name: _____________________________________________ 

7. EXAMINATION HISTORY

For information regarding application deadlines, examination approval, and examination dates, visit
floridasmentalhealthprofessions.gov/resources/exam-schedule/.

Have you passed the national clinical examination for the profession in which you are applying?     Yes  No 

If “Yes,” provide the exam name: _____________________________________ Date passed: ______________ 
 MM/DD/YYYY 

If you have passed the national clinical examination for your profession and did not take the examination 
as a Florida-registered intern, you must request an official score report to be sent directly to the board 
office. Scores are only accepted from other state boards and the following: 

Licensed Clinical Social Worker scores accepted from the Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB). 

Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist scores accepted from the Association of Marital and Family Therapy 
Regulatory Boards (AMFTRB). 

Licensed Mental Health Counselor scores accepted from the National Board of Certified Counselors (NBCC). 

Applicants requiring Special Testing Accommodations: 

Licensed Clinical Social Work candidates requiring special accommodations must contact the Association of 
Social Work Boards (ASWB) directly to arrange testing accommodations. Contact ASWB at 800-225-6880 
extension 3250 or http://www.aswb.org. 

Licensed Marriage and Family Therapy candidates requiring special accommodations must submit an 
application for special testing accommodations no later than 60 days prior to sitting for the 
examination to the Professional Testing Corporation (PTC). You must submit your request using the 
Request for Special Needs Accommodations Form found online at 
http://www.ptcny.com/PDF/PTC_SpecialAccommodationRequestForm.pdf.  
You may reach the PTC by phone at 212-356-0660. 

Licensed Mental Health Counseling candidates requiring special accommodations must submit a request form to 
the National Board for Certified Counselors (NBCC). A Computer-Based Testing Special Accommodations 
Request form is located in the NCMHCE Candidate Handbook, which can be downloaded at the NBCC website at 
www.nbcc.org. 
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Name: _____________________________________________ 

This information is exempt from public records disclosure. 

8. HEALTH HISTORY

Physical and Mental Health Disorders Impacting Ability to Practice 

A. During the last two years, have you been treated for or had a recurrence of a diagnosed physical or mental
disorder that impaired or would impair your ability to practice?         Yes            No

B. In the last two years, have you been admitted or referred to a hospital, facility or impaired practitioner program
for treatment of a diagnosed mental or physical disorder that impaired your ability to practice?        Yes       No

 Substance-Related Disorders Impacting Ability to Practice 

C. During the last five years, have you been treated for or had a recurrence of a diagnosed substance-related
(alcohol or drug) disorder that impaired or would impair your ability to practice?         Yes          No

D. During the last five years, were you admitted or directed into a program for the treatment of a diagnosed
substance-related (alcohol or drug) disorder or, if you were previously in such a program, did you suffer a
relapse?          Yes          No

E. During the last five years, have you been enrolled in, required to enter, or participated in any substance-
related (alcohol or drug) recovery program or impaired practitioner program for treatment of drug or alcohol
abuse?          Yes           No 

If a “Yes” response was provided to any of the questions in this section, provide the following documents 
directly to the board office: 

A letter from a Licensed Health Care Practitioner, who is qualified by skill and training to address the 
condition identified, which explains the impact the condition may have on the ability to practice the 
profession with reasonable skill and safety. The letter must specify that the applicant is safe to practice 
the profession without restrictions or specifically indicate the restrictions that are necessary. 
Documentation provided must be dated within one year of the application date. 

A written self-explanation, identifying the medical condition(s) or occurrence(s); and current status. 
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Name: _____________________________________________ 

9. DISCIPLINE HISTORY

A. Have you ever been denied a psychotherapy or counseling-related license or the renewal thereof in any
state? Yes            No

B. Have you ever been denied the right to take a psychotherapy or counseling-related licensure examination?
 Yes  No 

C. Have you ever had a license to practice any profession revoked, suspended, or otherwise acted against in a
disciplinary proceeding in any state?        Yes           No

D. Is there currently pending, in any jurisdiction, a complaint or investigation against your professional conduct or
competency? Yes           No

E. Have you ever been involved in, reprimanded for or disciplined by an employer or educational institution for
misconduct including fraud, misrepresentation, academic misconduct, theft or sexual harassment?
       Yes            No  

If you responded “Yes” to any of the questions in this section, complete the following: 

Name of Agency State Action Date 
(MM/DD/YYYY) Final Action Under 

Appeal? 
  Y  N 

 Y  N 
 Y  N 
 Y  N 

If you responded “Yes” to any of the questions in this section, you must provide the following: 

A written self-explanation, describing in detail the circumstances surrounding the disciplinary action. 

A copy of the Administrative Complaint and Final Order. 

10. CRIMINAL HISTORY

Have you ever been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty, nolo contendere, or no contest to any crime in any
jurisdiction other than a minor traffic offense? You must include all misdemeanors and felonies, even if
adjudication was withheld.

Reckless driving, driving while license suspended or revoked (DWSLR), driving under the influence (DUI) or
driving while impaired (DWI) are not minor traffic offenses for purposes of this question.          Yes         No

If you responded “Yes,” complete the following:

Offense Jurisdiction Date 
(MM/DD/YYYY)  

Final Disposition Under 
Appeal? 
   Y       N 
   Y       N 
   Y       N 

If you responded “Yes” in this section, you must provide the following: 

A written self-explanation, describing in detail the circumstances surrounding each offense; including 
dates, city and state, charges and final results. 

Final Dispositions and Arrest Records for all offenses. The Clerk of the Court in the arresting 
jurisdiction will provide you with these documents. Unavailability of these documents must come in the 
form of a letter from the Clerk of the Court. 

Completion of Sentence Documents. You may obtain documents from the Department of Corrections. 
The report must include the start date, end date, and that the conditions were met.  
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Name: _____________________________________________ 

11. CRIMINAL AND MEDICAID/MEDICARE FRAUD QUESTIONS

IMPORTANT NOTICE: Applicants for licensure, certification, or registration and candidates for examination may
be excluded from licensure, certification, or registration if their felony convictions fall into certain timeframes as
established in s. 456.0635(2), F.S.

1. Have you been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere, regardless of adjudication, to a
felony under chapter (ch.) 409, F.S. (relating to social and economic assistance), ch. 817, F.S. (relating to
fraudulent practices), ch. 893, F.S. (relating to drug abuse prevention and control), or a similar felony
offense(s) in another state or jurisdiction?  Yes  No 

If you responded “No” to the question above, skip to question 2. 

a. If “Yes” to 1, for the felonies of the first or second degree, has it been more than 15 years from the date of
the plea, sentence, and completion of any subsequent probation?         Yes           No

b. If “Yes” to 1, for the felonies of the third degree, has it been more than ten years from the date of the plea,
sentence, and completion of subsequent probation (this question does not apply to felonies of the third
degree under s. 893.13(6)(a), F.S.)? Yes         No

c. If “Yes” to 1, for the felonies of the third degree under s. 893.13(6)(a), F.S., has it been more than five
years from the date of the plea, sentence, and completion of any subsequent probation?

 Yes No 

d. If “Yes” to 1, have you successfully completed a drug court program that resulted in the plea for the felony
offense being withdrawn or the charges dismissed (if “Yes,” provide supporting documentation)?

  Yes No 

2. Have you been convicted of, or entered a plea of guilty or nolo contendere to, regardless of adjudication, to a
felony under 21 U.S.C. ss. 801-970 or 42 U.S.C. ss. 1395-1396 (relating to public health, welfare, Medicare
and Medicaid issues)? Yes  No 

If you responded “No” to the question above, skip to question 3. 

a. If “Yes” to 2, has it been more than 15 years before the date of application since the sentence and any
subsequent period of probation for such conviction or plea ended? Yes         No

3. Have you ever been terminated for cause from the Florida Medicaid Program pursuant to s. 409.913, F.S.?
      Yes           No  

If you responded “No” to the question above, skip to question 4. 

a. If you have been terminated but reinstated, have you been in good standing with the Florida Medicaid
Program for the most recent five years?         Yes           No

4. Have you ever been terminated for cause, pursuant to the appeals procedures established by the state, from
any other state Medicaid program?  Yes  No 

If you responded “No” to the question above, skip to question 5. 

a. Have you been in good standing with a state Medicaid program for the most recent five years?
  Yes          No 

b. Did termination occur at least 20 years before the date of this application?  Yes  No 
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Name: _____________________________________________ 

5. Are you currently listed on the United States Department of Health and Human Services’ Office of the
Inspector General’s List of Excluded Individuals and Entities (LEIE)?        Yes           No

a. If you responded “Yes” to the question above, are you listed because you defaulted or are delinquent on
a student loan?         Yes          No

b. If you responded “Yes” to question 5.a., is the student loan default or delinquency the only reason you are
listed on the LEIE?          Yes               No 

If you responded “Yes” to any of the questions in this section, you must provide the following: 

A written explanation for each question including the county and state of each termination or conviction, date of 
each termination or conviction, and copies of supporting documentation. 

Supporting documentation including court dispositions or agency orders where applicable. 

Documentation for sections 8, 9, 10 and 11 must be sent to the board office at 
info@floridasmentalhealthprofessions.gov, or by mail to: 

Board of Clinical Social Work, Marriage and Family Therapy, 
and Mental Health Counseling 
4052 Bald Cypress Way Bin C‐08 
Tallahassee, FL 32399‐3258 

12. APPLICANT SIGNATURE

I, the undersigned, state that I am the person identified in this application for licensure in the state of Florida. 

I recognize that providing false information may result in disciplinary action against my license or criminal penalties 
pursuant to s. 456.067, F.S. 

I understand Florida law requires me to immediately inform the board of any material change in any circumstances or 
condition stated in the application which takes place between the initial filing and the final granting or denial of the 
license and to supplement the information on this application as needed.  

I hereby acknowledge that I have read the regulations in ch. 491, F.S., and related rules. I understand 
that I am under a continuing obligation to keep informed of any changes to ch. 491, F.S., and related 
rules. I further state that I will comply with all requirements for licensure renewal, including continuing education 
credits. 

Section 456.013(1)(a), F.S., provides that an incomplete application shall expire one year after the initial filing with the 
department. 

Applicant Signature ____________________________________________________   Date ________________ 
 You may print this application and sign it or sign digitally.      MM/DD/YYYY 
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Complete verifications must be mailed directly from the licensing agency to:

Board of Clinical Social Work, Marriage and Family Therapy, 
and Mental Health Counseling 
4052 Bald Cypress Way Bin C‐08 
Tallahassee, FL 32399‐3258 

License/Certification Verification Request 

Part I: To be completed by applicant (Florida requires verification of all your current and previously held 
licenses.) 

Name: ____________________________________________________________________________________ 

Address: __________________________________________________________________________________ 

Name original license was issued under: _________________________________________________________ 

License Number: _____________________________________ State: _________________________________ 

I hereby authorize release of any information regarding my licensure status to the Florida Board of Clinical Social 
Work, Marriage and Family Therapy, and Mental Health Counseling. 

Applicant Signature: _________________________________________________ Date: __________________ 
   MM/DD/YYYY 

Part II: To be completed by state licensing agency 

All verifications must be in English and include the following criteria: 

* Typed on an official state form or letterhead
* Include an official board seal
* Signature and title of state board official

     The following information must be included in all verifications: 

* Licensee name * License number * State or jurisdiction of licensure
* Licensure status * Is license in good standing?
* Date of issuance and expiration
* Licensure method (examination, grandfathering, reciprocity/endorsement) If exam provide exam

name, exam level, exam date, and score achieved.
* Has this license ever been encumbered (denied, revoked, suspended, surrendered, limited, placed

on probation)?
* If this license has ever been encumbered, please provide certified copies of documentation

regarding the action with the completed license verification.
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Board of Clinical Social Work, Marriage and Family Therapy, 
and Mental Health Counseling 

CLINICAL SOCIAL WORK 
EDUCATION WORKSHEET FOR EXAMINATION 

Name: _____________________________________________ 

1. GENERAL INFORMATION

You are required to complete 24 semester hours or 32 quarter hours of graduate level coursework in theory of human
behavior, and practice methods as courses in clinically oriented services within an accredited school of social work
program. (Only one research course may be counted towards the coursework requirement). Do not list fieldwork.

Course numbers and titles should be listed as they appear on your official transcripts. You must submit a course
description photocopied from a school catalog or a course syllabus for all courses listed below.

If you were admitted to an advanced standing program, an official of the school which awarded your master’s degree
in social work must provide a letter, on university letterhead, verifying the specific courses completed at the
baccalaureate level which were used to waive or exempt completion of similar courses at the graduate level.

School Name Course Number Course Title Credit Hours 

2. PSYCHOPATHOLOGY

List the graduate level psychopathology course you completed within an accredited school of social work program.
You must submit a course description photocopied from a school catalog or a course syllabus for the course listed.

School Name Course Number Course Title Credit Hours 

3. ADVANCED SUPERVISED FIELD PLACEMENT

You are required to complete a supervised field placement which was part of your advanced concentration in direct
practice, during which you provided clinical services directly to clients. An official of the school (Dean, Department
Chair) which awarded your graduate degree must provide a letter on university letterhead verifying:

1) that the supervised field placement was completed during the master’s or doctorate program; and

2) the setting in which you provided clinical services directly to clients.

School Name Course Number Advanced Supervised Field 
Placement Course Title 

Field Placement Dates: 
From-To (MM/DD/YYYY) 

Submit worksheet with your application.

to
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Board of Clinical Social Work, Marriage and Family Therapy, 

and Mental Health Counseling 

MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPY 

EDUCATION WORKSHEET FOR EXAMINATION 

Page 1 of 2 

Name: _____________________________________________ 

If you graduated from a program accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy 
Education (COAMFTE), check the box verifying your degree. You will not be required to verify your coursework. 

I graduated from a COAMFTE accredited program. 

If you graduated from a counseling program accredited by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related 
Education Programs (CACREP) or, before September 1, 2027, an institutionally accredited college or university, complete 
the coursework information below. 

1. COURSEWORK VERIFICATION

You must indicate the graduate level course(s) you completed that satisfy the educational requirement in the content
areas listed. Course numbers and titles should be listed as they appear on your official transcripts. If the course title
on your transcript does not clearly identify the content of the coursework, a course description or syllabus may be
required.

Each of the following content areas must have a minimum of three semester hours or four quarter hours in
graduate level coursework.

Content Area School Name 
Course 
Number 

Course Title 
Credit 
Hours 

Dynamics of Marriage and 
Family Systems 

1.

2.
Marriage Therapy and 
Counseling Theory and 
Techniques 

1. 

2. 
Family Therapy and 
Counseling Theory and 
Techniques 

1. 

2. 
Individual Human 
Development Theories 
Throughout the Life Cycle 

1. 

2. 

Psychopathology 
1. 

2. 
Human Sexuality Theory 
and Counseling 
Techniques 

1. 

2. 

Psychosocial Theory 
1. 

2. 
Substance Abuse Theory 
and Counseling 
Techniques 

1. 

2.
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Board of Clinical Social Work, Marriage and Family Therapy, 
and Mental Health Counseling 

MARRIAGE AND FAMILY THERAPY 
EDUCATION WORKSHEET FOR EXAMINATION 

Page 2 of 2 

Name: _____________________________________________ 

Content Area School Name Course 
Number Course Title Credit 

Hours 
Legal, Ethical, Professional Standards 
Issues in the Practice of Marriage & 
Family Therapy 
Diagnosis, Appraisal, Assessment, and 
Testing for Individual or Interpersonal 
Disorder or Dysfunction 
Behavioral Research (Course must 
focus on the interpretation and 
application of research data as it 
applies to clinical practice) 

Submit worksheet with your application. 
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Board of Clinical Social Work, Marriage and Family Therapy, 

and Mental Health Counseling 

MENTAL HEALTH COUNSELING 

EDUCATION WORKSHEET FOR EXAMINATION 

Page 1 of 2 

Name: _____________________________________________ 

If the program you graduated from was not accredited by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related 
Education Programs (CACREP) or if the program you graduated from was a CACREP accredited program that was not 
mental health counseling, then sections 1, 2, and 3 apply to you. (There are CACREP accredited programs in 
community counseling; marital, couple, and family counseling; and school counseling, for example.) If you graduated from 
a CACREP mental health counseling program, then only section 4 applies to you. 

1. GENERAL INFORMATION

Your overall degree program must be a minimum of 60 semester hours or 80 quarter hours. Within the degree
program, you’ll be required to complete three semester hours or four quarter hours of individualized graduate level
coursework at an accredited institution in each of the content areas listed below. Course numbers and titles should
be listed as they appear on your official transcripts. If the course title on your transcript does not clearly identify
the content of the coursework, a course description or syllabus will be required.

2. COURSEWORK VERIFICATION

You must indicate below the graduate level course you completed that satisfies the education requirement in the
specific content area. You must have a minimum of three semester hours or four quarter hours to satisfy each
content area.

Content Area School Name Course 
Number Course Title Credit 

Hours 
Counseling Theories 
and Practice 
Human Growth  
and Development 
Diagnosis and Treatment 
of Psychopathology 

Human Sexuality 

Group Theories 
and Practice 
Individual Evaluation 
and Assessment 
Career and Lifestyle 
Assessment 
Research and Program 
Evaluation 
Social and Cultural 
Foundations 

Substance Abuse 

Legal, Ethical, & 
Professional Standards 
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Board of Clinical Social Work, Marriage and Family Therapy, 
and Mental Health Counseling 

MENTAL HEALTH COUNSELING 
EDUCATION WORKSHEET FOR EXAMINATION 

Page 2 of 2 

Name: _____________________________________________ 

3. UNIVERSITY-SPONSORED SUPERVISED CLINICAL PRACTICUM, INTERNSHIP OR FIELD EXPERIENCE

You must complete at least 700 hours of university-sponsored supervised clinical practicum, internship,
or field experience that includes at least 280 hours of direct clinical services as required in the accrediting standards
of CACREP for mental health counseling programs.

The accrediting standards of CACREP for these hours are:

 At least 280 of these hours must be in direct service with actual clients that contributes to the development of
counseling skills, including experience leading groups

 An average of one hour per week of individual and/or triadic supervision
 The opportunity for the applicant to become familiar with a variety of professional activities and resources in

addition to direct service (e.g., record keeping, assessment instruments, supervision, information and
referral, in-service and staff meetings)

 The opportunity for the applicant to develop program-appropriate audio/video recordings for use in
supervision or to receive live supervision of the applicant’s interactions with clients

 Evaluation of the applicant’s counseling performance throughout the practicum/internship, including a formal
evaluation after the completion of the practicum/internship hours

An official of the school (Dean, Department Chair) which awarded your graduate degree must provide a letter on 
university letterhead verifying that the supervised practicum/internship was completed in accordance with CACREP 
standards. The practicum letter should also include the following: 

a. Course Title(s) of Practicum/Internship/Field Experience
b. Course Number(s)
c. School or Site Where Experience was Completed
d. Dates of Practicum/Internship or Field Experience
e. Total Number of Clock Hours Completed
f. Total Number of Direct Client Service Hours Completed

This requirement may be met by supervised practice experience which took place outside the academic arena that 
met the CACREP standards and was under the supervision of a qualified supervisor or the equivalent. 

4. GRADUATE OF A CACREP MENTAL HEALTH COUNSELING PROGRAM

If you graduated from a mental health counseling program accredited by CACREP, your overall degree program
must be a minimum of 60 semester hours or 80 quarter hours, including a course in human sexuality and a course
in substance abuse.

Indicate below the graduate level course you completed that satisfies the two specific content areas.
You must have a minimum of three semester hours or four quarter hours in each content area.

Content Area School Name Course 
Number Course Title Credit 

Hours 
Human Sexuality 
Substance Abuse 

DH-MQA 1174, Revised 8/2020, Rule 64B4-3.001, F.A.C. 

Submit worksheet with your application.
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Board of Clinical Social Work, Marriage and Family Therapy, 
and Mental Health Counseling 

HIV/AIDS AFFIDAVIT 

Pursuant to s. 491.0065, F.S., and Rule 64B4-8.002, Florida Administrative Code, all initial  
licensure applicants are required to complete an approved education course on human  
immunodeficiency virus (HIV)and acquired immune deficiency syndrome (AIDS). The course must 
provide a minimum of three hours of HIV/AIDS education, including education on protocols and  
procedures applicable to HIV counseling, testing, reporting and partner notification. 

An applicant who has not taken the course at the time of licensure shall, upon submission of an affidavit showing good 
cause, be allowed six months to complete this requirement. If you have already completed this course, please send proof 
with your application. If you have not yet completed the course, fill out this affidavit, have it notarized, and return it with 
your application.  

Your application is incomplete without this affidavit or proof of completion of the HIV/AIDS course. 

APPLICANT STATEMENT 

I, _______________________________________, am of legal age and have personal knowledge of the matters stated in 
(Applicant Full Name) 

this affidavit. I will complete an approved course which provides a minimum of three hours of HIV/AIDS education within 

the first six months of my licensure by the Department of Health. 

Applicant Signature ____________________________________________________ Date ___________________ 
 MM/DD/YYYY 

NOTARY SIGNATURE 

Before me, the undersigned authority, personally appeared ________________________________________ who 
(Applicant Full Name) 

deposes and affirms the above statement is true and correct. 

State of ________________  County of ______________ 

Sworn to and/or subscribed before me this _______________ day of _______________________, 20___________ 

By _____________________________________________ whose identity is known to me by __________________ 

Notary Signature ________________________________ Printed Name of Notary _______________________________ 

[NOTARY SEAL] 



Submit form with application, email to info@floridasmentalhealthprofessions.gov,   
or mail to: 

Board of Clinical Social Work, Marriage and Family Therapy, 
and Mental Health Counseling 
4052 Bald Cypress Way Bin C‐08  
Tallahassee, FL 32399‐3258 

Verification of Clinical Experience 
Form must be completed by the supervisor. 

Applicant Name: ________________________________________________________________ 

Florida Intern Registration Number/Other State License Number: __________________________ 

Select profession: Clinical Social Work Marriage & Family Therapy Mental Health Counseling 

1. SUPERVISOR INFORMATION

Supervisor Name: _____________________________________________________________________________ 

Email Address: _______________________________________________________________________________ 

License Type State License Number 

Supervisors licensed outside of Florida must provide a license verification 

2. SUPERVISED CLINICAL EXPERIENCE

I have read and understand Rule 64B4-2, Florida Administrative Code (F.A.C.), which states, in part: 

An intern shall be credited for the time of supervision required by s. 491.005, F.S., if the intern: 
a) Received at least 100 hours of supervision in no less than 100 weeks; and
b) Provided at least 1500 hours of face-to-face psychotherapy with clients; and
c) Received at least one hour of supervision every two weeks

A. Dates of supervision:     Start Date: ___________________  End Date: _____________________ 
 MM/DD/YYYY  Provide specific date - MM/DD/YYYY 

B. The applicant received ___________ hours of supervision, with at least one hour of supervision every two weeks.

C. The applicant provided psychotherapy face-to-face with clients for a total of ___________ hours.

Select one of the following:

I intend to provide supervision until the registered intern is fully licensed pursuant to s. 491.0045(3), 
F.A.C. If this changes, I will notify the board office of the date supervision ended. 

I am no longer providing this registered intern with supervision as of: _____________________ 
MM/DD/YYYY

3. SUPERVISOR STATEMENT

MM/DD/YYYY 

DH-MQA 1174, Revised 8/2020, Rule 64B4-3.001, F.A.C.             Page 20 of 20 

As the qualified supervisor of this intern, select the answer below that reflects your conclusion of their ability to 
practice and/or counsel independently. 

Has the applicant met the minimum standards of performance in professional activities as measured against generally 
prevailing peer performance, pursuant to s. 491.009(1)(r), F.S.?          Yes   No 

If “No,” you must provide further information to explain why this requirement has not been met. 

Supervisor Signature: ___________________________________________________ Date: ____________________
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