July 1, 2020
The regulatory requirements for clinical social work, marriage and family therapy, and mental health counseling licensure have changed effective July 1, 2020. During the 2020 Legislative Session, House Bill 713 was passed and was recently signed by Governor DeSantis. The following is provided as a brief overview of the implemented law:
- Registered Interns are authorized to request an extension to their licensure expiration date if they have passed the theory and practice exam but were unable to complete the experience requirement within 60 months due to a documented hardship. The Board of Clinical Social Work, Marriage and Family Therapy, and Mental Health Counseling will be discussing rulemaking regarding the method for requesting the extension at the next scheduled general business meeting on August 6, 2020, at 8:00 a.m. EST.
- Registered Marriage and Family Therapy Intern and Licensed Marriage and Family Therapy Exam Applicant education requirements for licensure have been revised to require a degree from a program accredited by the Commission on Accreditation for Marriage and Family Therapy Education (COAMFTE) or a Florida university program accredited by the Council for Accreditation of Counseling and Related Educational Programs (CACREP) with additional graduate level coursework approved by the Board. The Board has previously identified the graduate level course work requirements in Rule 64B4-22.110, Florida Administrative Code.
- Registered Mental Health Counseling Intern and Licensed Mental Health Counseling Exam Applicant education requirements for licensure have been revised to remove the graduate level course in Counseling in Community Settings. Practicum hours have been reduced to at least 700 hours of university-sponsored supervised clinical practicum, internship, or field experience that includes at least 280 hours of direct client services.
- Beginning July 1, 2025, all Mental Health Counselor applicants must graduate from a CACREP accredited program as a minimum qualification for licensure.
- Endorsement candidates will now only be required to provide license verification, proof of passing the applicable theory and practice exam, and continuing education certificates demonstrating completion of the required courses. The education review component was removed from law.
For further information regarding this bill, or to read the bill in it’s entirety, please visit click here.